Illustration ©Künstleragentur

Sunday 02.05.2021, 11:00 

Jakub Flügelbunt... and Magdalena Rotenband

Comics for three singers and ensemble

The event is in the past!

  • Child & youth under 17: € 6.- | Adult: € 16.-

plus booking fees

Event cancelled

Children love action, as Miroslav Srnka knows. Therefore, for his piece Jakub Flügelbunt .. und Magdalena Rotenband (Jacob Colourwing … and Magdalena Redribbon), the Czech composer teaching in Cologne chose a narrative form that is full of tempo and punchlines: "To myself, I call it a comic strip opera, because everything races forward in short dialogues. In between, there’s a lot of flying, falling, running, searching, arguing, counting and building." Jakub, the title hero, is a young bird who tries to take flight too soon and too high, breaks a wing when he crashes to the ground, makes friends, wins the animals’ big forest race and finds true love. It’s a piece about growing up – and that is reflected in Jakub’s part, which sinks from countertenor to baritone, occasionally switching between registers like a boy undergoing his vocal mutation. The other singers, soprano and bass, take different roles, and even the orchestra musicians occasionally intervene in the action. Jakub Flügelbunt is an amusing fairy-tale for listeners of any age, and it explores the immense possibilities of the human voice. The music is quite modern – but children don’t mind that.

Funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

No intermision | Estimated end at 12:00


Lisa Ströckens Sopran (Mutter, Magdalena, Eichhörnchen)
Fabio Lesuisse baritone (Jakub und CT Stimme)
Pawel Lawreszuk bass (Vater, Igel, Eule)
Christopher Ward Musikalische Leitung
Clara Hinterberger stage direction
Patrick Widmer Visuelle Gestaltung
Dorien Thomsen Ausstattung
Marie Harneit Kostüm
Luca Fois Videokunst/ Animation
Pia-Rabea Vornholt Dramaturgie


Miroslav Srnka
Jakub Flügelbunt... und Magdalena Rotenband oder: Wie tief ein Vogel singen kann
Comics für drei Sänger und Ensemble
Libretto vom Komponisten nach einem Motiv von Maria Procházková (2011)
Kompositionsauftrag der Ensemblefassung von ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln gefördert vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen


Kölner Philharmonie