Listen ©Janet Sinica

Wednesday 04.05.2022, 10:00 

Zentralbibliothek, Musikbibliothek 4. OG


An Audiovisual Installation

The event is in the past!

Listening is the name of the game here, in experiences of sound perception which are the focus of an audiovisual installation in abandoned industrial buildings and other locations in the region, all associated with memories. Thus, one of the four episodes takes the viewer to an abandoned greenhouse, another to the multi-functional building »Terra Nova« near the brown coal mining site in Hambach. In Janet Sinica’s film, the eye of the camera traces the movements of an invisible listener through these places. It follows their relationships with the musicians, the angle of the light, the changing surroundings – many spatial and visual aspects which co-determine our musical listening experience. Compositions for voice, double bass and electronics, some of them conceived especially for the video format, some implemented in specially adapted versions, are performed in spaces never intended for this purpose – to what effect? 

Im Rahmen von »100 Jahre Musikbibliothek«. Zu besichtigen während der allgemeinen Öffnungszeiten der Zentralbibliothek bis zum 8. Mai 2022:

Mo, Mi, Fr 10:00 bis 18:00

Di und Do 10:00 bis 20:00

Sa 10:00 bis 15:00

So 13:00 bis 18:00

Eine Produktion von HowNow unterstützt durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW


Florentin Ginot / Stefan Prins
für Kontrabass und Live-Elektronik. Kontrabass: Florentin Ginot, Live-Elektronik & Editing: Stefan Prins
Kamera und Regie: Janet Sinica, Ton: Camille Lézer

Rebecca Saunders
Blue and Gray
für zwei Kontrabässe. Kontrabässe: Sophie Lücke & Florentin Ginot,
Kamera und Regie: Janet Sinica, Ton: Pablo Garreton

Francisco Alvarado
desert bloom
für Kontrabass und Elektronik. Kamera und Regie: Janet Sinica, Ton: Pablo Garreton

Martin Smolka
für Stimme und Kontrabass. Text von Henry David Thoreau und aus dem Neuen Testament. Juliet Fraser : Stimme, Florentin Ginot : Kontrabass
Kompositionsauftrag von ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln, Milano Musica und HowNow, gefördert durch SACEM

ACHT BRÜCKEN in Kooperation mit der Stadtbibliothek Köln

In addition

We are all lichens
18:00 Uhr, Kunst-Station Sankt Peter

Concerts in this subscription