Kölner Philharmonie

The Kölner Philharmony

Since 1986 the Kölner Philharmonie has been an integral part of Europe's music scene. One reason for such prominence is the variety of the concert programmes, which comprise the great works of the symphonic and chamber music repertoire, jazz sessions, folk and pop events, and the world and Cologne premiéres of lesser known, new and exotic works.

Another reason is the unique atmosphere prevailing in the exquisitely beautiful concert hall which has been designed in the style of an amphitheatre.

Concerts are held almost daily here and up to two or three on Sundays and public holidays.

What takes your fancy? Top-notch symphonic music? Scintillating chamber creations with the outstanding ensembles? Virtuoso soloists, dramatic opera, high-end jazz or a kaleidoscope of world music? It's all happening at the Kölner Philharmonie.

Philharmonie in Stichworten

  • Intendant

    Louwrens Langevoort

    Louwrens Langevoort ©KölnMusik/Jörn Neumann

    Louwrens Langevoort
    Artistic and managing director and CEO of KölnMusik GmbH

     

    Following completion of his law studies in 1981, Louwrens Langevoort began his professional career as artistic PR manager, before assuming the post of director of the department of artistic management at the Brussels Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie under Gerard Mortier. After heading up Arts and Repertoire for one year at Philips Classics, he was appointed director of the artistic management department at the Salzburg Festival. In 1991 he became director of artistic production at the Leipzig Opera House, before switching to the post of head of artistic management at the City of Cologne Opera House in 1993. In 1994 Louwrens Langevoort was appointed Intendant, then in 1995 managing director of the Dutch National Reisopera. Backed by state subsidies totalling 5.6 million euro, he set about reorganising the opera company, introducing a repertoire of between six to eight productions and staging some 90 performances across the major Dutch cities each season. With the opening of the 2000/2001 season, Louwrens Langevoort took up the position as managing and artistic director of the Hamburg State Opera. Providing the house with new artistic impulses and direction, he continued the successful tradition of the Hamburg Opera: The key programmatic highlights of his tenure lay in championing modern opera and reviving old works. In addition to nurturing the repertoire, Louwrens Langevoort also staged the highly successful cycle of Baroque operas in 2001, developed the children‘s opera series "Opera piccola" and promoted young talent with the International Opera Studio and budding young composers as part of the Composers’ Workshop, which he launched in 2001. In 2004 and 2005, Louwrens Langevoort also served as consultant to the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin.

    Louwrens Langevoort took up his posts as Intendant of the Kölner Philharmonie, CEO of KölnMusik GmbH and General Artistic Director of the EIGHT BRIDGES | Music for Cologne festival at the start of the 2005/2006 season. His objective is to maintain and further enhance the musical output of the Kölner Philharmonie, whose quality and diversity are internationally recognised. Through projects like PhilharmonieLunch, PhilharmonieVeedel and philharmonie.tv, he has succeeded in attracting sought-after audience segments such as young professionals and young families, offering them special, tailor-made events inside and outside the concert hall.

    Thanks to Langevoort's unrelenting commitment, Cologne has gained a new annual festival. After the Cologne MusikTriennale came to an end in 2010, the EIGHT BRIDGES | Music for Cologne festival, which celebrates modern music, has been staged every year since 2011 at the beginning of May.

    In August 2014 Langevoort's contract as Intendant of the Kölner Philharmonie was extended for a second time, enabling him to help shape and be part of Cologne's musical life until the end of July 2020.

  • Chairwoman of the Supervisory Board

    Henriette Reker
    Mayoress of the City of Cologne

  • Inaugural Concert of the Kölner Philharmonie

    14. September 1986

  • Architects

    Peter Busmann
    Godfrid Haberer

  • Hall Capacity

    Around 2,000 people

  • Equipment

    Grand concert organ with 70 stops constructed and installed by the Bonn-based organ-maker Johannes Klais, as a spatial sculpture

  • Concert series and subscription concerts per Season

    around 50

  • Concerts per Year

    around 400

  • Patrons per Year

    around 650 000

  • Concert Promoters

    KölnMusik GmbH,
    Westdeutscher Rundfunk,
    Gürzenich-Orchester Köln,
    Arbeitskreis Kölner Chöre,
    BB Promotion,
    DeutschlandRadio, Westdeutsche Konzertdirektion Köln,
    Konzert Theater Kontor Heinersdorff GmbH,
    Kölner Kammerorchester, Kontrapunkt-Konzerte u.a.

  • Ticket Sales

    Philharmonie Hotline:
    +49.221/280 280
    www.koelnticket.de

    KölnMusik Ticket am Roncalliplatz 50667 Köln

    KölnMusik Ticket  in der Mayerschen Buchhandlung, Neumarkt-Galerie, 50667 Köln

  • Resident Orchestra

    WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne
    chief conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
    Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne
    chief conductor: François-Xavier Roth

  • Total Number of Concerts

    The 6000th concert since the inception of the Kölner Philharmonie took place on 26 April 2003
    the 6,666 concert on the 26 February 2005
    the 7000th concert on 14 February 2006
    the 7,777 concert on the 21 March 2008
    the 8,000th concert on the 15 November 2008
    the 10,000th concert on 31 December 2013

  • Aggregate Attendance

    The 1,000,000th patron was welcomed through our doors in 12.1988,
    the 5,000,000th in 07.1995,
    the 6,000,000th on 20.01.1997
    the 7,000,000th patron on 21.08.1998
    the 8,000,000th patron on 28.02.2000
    the 9,000,000th patron on 6.12.2001
    the 10,000,000th patron on 24.09.2003
    the 11,000,000th patron on 22.05.2005
    the 12,000,000th patron on 24.04.2007
    the 13,000,000th patron on 01.04.2009
    the 14,000,000th patron on 11.12.2010
    the 15,000,000th patron on 06.09.2012
    the 16,000,000th patron on 14.04.2014.

  • Exhibitions in the foyer

    Prior to the concerts and during the intermission, patrons have the opportunity of visiting - free of charge - the permanently changing exhibitions staged in the foyer of the Kölner Philharmonie, which serve as a complement to, and indeed a commentary on, the scheduled concerts. The spectrum of the exhibitions embraces documentations on composers and musical personalities, grants vivid insights into behind the scenes of concert life and shows collections of instruments. Information on the current exhibitions can be obtained from our News (only in German).

Kölner Philharmonie

Die Kölner Philharmonie

Seit 1986 ist die Philharmonie aus dem Musikleben nicht mehr wegzudenken. Ein Grund dafür ist die Vielfalt des Programms mit den großen Werken des sinfonischen Repertoires, den Jazzsessions, Folk- und Popevents und den Konzerten, die Uraufführungen, Erstaufführungen, dem weniger Bekannten sowie dem Neuen und Fremdartigen gewidmet sind.

Ein anderer Grund ist die unverwechselbare Atmosphäre des traumhaft schönen Saals, der einem Amphitheater nachempfunden ist.

Fast jeden Tag des Jahres findet hier ein Konzert statt; an Sonn- und Feiertagen sind es sogar oft zwei oder drei. Selbst die Pausen sind ein Beleg für die Betriebsamkeit.

Wonach steht Ihnen der Sinn? Nach hochkarätigen Orchestern aus den USA und Europa? Nach feinster Kammermusik in fantastischen Lieder- und Klavierabenden? Nach virtuosen Solisten, ermunternden Operetten, Weltklasse-Jazz oder Weltmusik mit all ihrem Reichtum? All das bietet Ihnen die Kölner Philharmonie.

Philharmonie in Stichworten

  • Intendant

    Louwrens Langevoort

    Louwrens Langevoort ©KölnMusik/Jörn Neumann

    Louwrens Langevoort
    Intendant der Kölner Philharmonie und Geschäftsführer der KölnMusik GmbH

     

    Louwrens Langevoort begann seine Tätigkeit als Kulturmanager nach Abschluss seines Jurastudiums 1981 als Dramaturg für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und später als Leiter des Künstlerischen Betriebsbüros am Brüsseler Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie bei Gerard Mortier. Nach einer einjährigen Tätigkeit als Artists and Repertoire Manager bei Philips Classics übernahm er 1989 die Leitung des Künstlerischen Betriebsbüros der Salzburger Festspiele. 1991 wurde er Direktor für Künstlerische Produktion an der Oper Leipzig, wechselte dann 1993 als Künstlerischer Betriebsdirektor an die Oper der Stadt Köln. 1994 wurde Louwrens Langevoort Intendant, 1995 auch Geschäftsführender Direktor der Nationalen Reisopera der Niederlande. Er baute die Operncompagnie mit einer staatlichen Subventionierung von 5,6 Millionen Euro neu auf, gestaltete das Repertoire mit sechs bis acht Produktionen und etwa 90 Vorstellungen in den wichtigen Niederländischen Städten pro Saison. Mit Beginn der Saison 2000/2001 trat Louwrens Langevoort sein Amt als Opernintendant der Hamburgischen Staatsoper an. In dieser Position setzte er künstlerische Akzente, die die erfolgreiche Geschichte des Hamburger Opernhauses fortführten: Modernes Musiktheater zu fördern und alte Werke immer wieder aufleben zu lassen, sind programmatische Schwerpunkte seiner Opernleitung. Neben der Repertoirepflege gehörten dazu für Louwrens Langevoort aber auch der überaus erfolgreiche Zyklus mit Barockopern, den er 2001 initiierte, der Aufbau der Kinderopernreihe »Opera piccola«, die Nachwuchsförderung mit dem Internationalen Opernstudio und die Förderung junger Komponisten im Rahmen der von ihm 2001 ins Leben gerufenen »Komponistenwerkstatt«. 2004 und 2005 war Louwrens Langevoort auch als Berater für die Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin tätig. 

    Sein Amt als Intendant der Kölner Philharmonie, Geschäftsführer der KölnMusik GmbH sowie Künstlerischer Gesamtleiter des Festivals ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln hat Louwrens Langevoort zum Beginn der Saison 2005/2006 angetreten. Sein Bestreben ist es, das weit über die deutschen Grenzen berühmte Angebot der Kölner Philharmonie in seiner Qualität und Vielfalt zu erhalten und weiter auszubauen. Mit Projekten wie PhilharmonieLunch, PhilharmonieVeedel und philharmonie.tv gelang es ihm, Publikumskreise wie junge Berufstätige und junge Familien anzusprechen, die in speziellen Veranstaltungen innerhalb und außerhalb des Konzertsaales auf sie zugeschnittene Angebote finden. 

    Auf sein unermüdliches Streben hin konnte zudem Köln um ein jährliches Festival bereichert werden: Nach dem Ende der MusikTriennale Köln im Jahr 2010  findet seit 2011 das Festival ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln statt, das sich jeweils Anfang Mai der Musik der Moderne widmet.

    Im August 2014 wurde bereits zum zweiten Mal der Vertrag von Louwrens Langevoort als Intendant der Kölner Philharmonie verlängert, womit er die Kölner Musikkultur bis Ende Juli 2020 begleiten und mitgestalten wird.

  • Vorsitzende des Aufsichtsrates

    Henriette Reker
    Oberbürgermeisterin der Stadt Köln

  • Eröffnungskonzert der Kölner Philharmonie

    14. September 1986

  • Architekten

    Peter Busmann
    Godfrid Haberer

  • Saalgröße

    rund 2 000 Personen

  • Ausstattung

    große Konzertorgel mit 70 Registern der Firma Johannes Klais, Bonn, konstruiert als Raumplastik

  • Konzertreihen und Abonnements pro Spielzeit

    rund 50

  • Konzerte pro Jahr

    rund 400

  • Besucher pro Jahr

    rund 650 000

  • Konzertveranstalter

    KölnMusik GmbH,
    Westdeutscher Rundfunk,
    Gürzenich-Orchester Köln,
    Arbeitskreis Kölner Chöre,
    BB Promotion,
    DeutschlandRadio, Westdeutsche Konzertdirektion Köln,
    Konzert Theater Kontor Heinersdorff GmbH,
    Kölner Kammerorchester, Kontrapunkt-Konzerte u.a.

  • Kartenkauf

    Philharmonie Hotline:
    +49.221/280 280
    www.koelnticket.de

    KölnMusik Ticket am Roncalliplatz 50667 Köln

    KölnMusik Ticket  in der Mayerschen Buchhandlung, Neumarkt-Galerie, 50667 Köln

  • Hausorchester

    WDR Sinfonieorchester
    Chefdirigent: Jukka-Pekka Saraste
    Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
    Chefdirigent: François-Xavier Roth

  • Konzerte insgesamt

    Das 6.000 Konzert seit Bestehen der Kölner Philharmonie fand am 26.04.2003 statt
    das 6.666 Konzert am 26.02.2005
    das 7.000 Konzert am 14.02.2006
    das 7.777 am 21.03.2008
    das 8.000 am 15.10.2008
    das 10.000 am 31.12.2013.

  • Besucherzahlen insgesamt

    Der 1 000 000. Besucher konnte bereits im Dezember 1988 begrüßt werden,
    der 5 000 000. im Juli 1995,
    der 6 000 000. am 20.01.1997
    der 7 000 000. am 21.08.1998
    der 8 000 000. am 28.02.2000
    der 9 000 000. am 6.12.2001
    der 10 000 000. am 24.09.2003
    der 11 000 000. am 22.05.2005
    der 12 000 000. am 24.04.2007
    der 13 000 000. am 01.04.2009
    der 14 000 000. am 11.12.2010
    der 15 000 000. am 06.09.2012
    der 16 000 000. am 14.04.2014.

  • Ausstellungen im Foyer

    Als Konzertbesucher haben Sie die Möglichkeit, vor den Konzerten und in der Pause im Foyer der Kölner Philharmonie wechselnde Ausstellungen zu besuchen, die das Konzertangebot ergänzen und kommentieren. Das Spektrum der Ausstellungen umfasst Dokumentationen zu Komponisten oder Musikerpersönlichkeiten ebenso wie Blicke hinter die Kulissen des Konzertbetriebes oder Sammlungen zu Instrumenten.