Carolin Widmann ©Lennard Rühle

Friday 05.05.2023, 20:00 


Werke von Helmut Lachenmann, Rebecca Saunders, Yiqing Zhu und Michael Pelzel

The event is in the past!

  • € 34.- | With discount: € 18.-
  • Standing tickets 2 hours before the concert: € 21.-

including booking fees

Standing tickets 2 hours before the concert: € 21.-

To begin with, an award-winning work: »Deep Grey« borrows from gamelan, rock’n’roll and beatboxing, making analogous sounds appear like live electronics – and winning the young Chinese composer Yiquing Zhu the first prize at the 2021 Basel Composition Competition. The Swiss composer Michael Pelzel got to know and love classical Carnatic music during several study periods in Southern India. Its complex rhythms and eccentric ornamentations inspired his new violin concerto, »Carnatic Pandora«. To Helmut Lachenmann, Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto is the epitome of beauty and humanism, but also an example of how art becomes a commodity. In »Accanto«, his »most revolutionary piece to date« (Eduard Brunner), the concerto serves as a hidden point of reference. Rebecca Saunders plays with silence, exploring nuances of meaning in the terms she employs as titles for her works. The word »trace« can indicate the vestiges of invisible things, but also minuscule amounts, as well as a form of drawing and reconstructing things or events. The music reverberates with all these different meanings.

Das Konzert wird vom WDR für den Hörfunk aufgezeichnet und kann am 05. Juni im Radio und anschließend für 30 Tage auf nachgehört werden.

Gefördert durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW und unterstützt durch die Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia

Intermission at 20:45 | Estimated end at 22:00


Yiqing Zhu
für großes Orchester

Helmut Lachenmann
Musik für einen Klarinettisten mit Orchester


Michael Pelzel
Carnatic Pandora
für Violine und Orchester
Kompositionsauftrag von Basel Sinfonietta und ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln, gefördert durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, die Schweizer Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia und die Fondation SUISA

Rebecca Saunders
für Kammerorchester


In addition

Einführung in das Konzert
19:00 Uhr, Empore

Concerts in this subscription

Kölner Philharmonie