S201 ©Rebecca ter Braak

Rebecca Saunders: Stirrings Still

Ensemble S201 spielt Rebecca Saunders, Daniel Verasson, Ricardo Eizirik und Elena Rykova

The event is in the past!

  • € 18.- | With discount: € 12.-

including booking fees

»Stirrings Still« – the extreme reduction in Samuel Beckett’s last prose text inspired Rebecca Saunders to write her eponymous ensemble piece, in which five players explore sounds at the cusp of extinction. Another quiet, sparse piece is Daniel Verasson’s »holurt«, which shares its modest title with the Icelandic name of sea campion. Starting together, letting the breath stream forth, listening to fading sounds …

A stark contrast is offered by Ricardo Eizirik’s »Junkyard piece IIIB«: here, silence results only from the interruption of mechanical movement. The ensemble resembles a malfunctioning machine, revving up slowly, rotating, stalling and falling into new processes according to inscrutable patterns. 

Finally, Elena Rykova’s trio composition »Life expectancy. Experience #2. Your Moon« combines gentle noises, electronically amplified, of prepared instruments in a strangely beautiful soundscape. 

​Supported by Kunststiftung NRW

No intermision | Estimated end at 12:00


Rebecca Saunders
Stirrings Still
für Altflöte, Oboe, Klarinette in A, Crotales und Klavier

Daniel Verasson
für Englischhorn, Akkordeon, Klavier und Elektronik

Ricardo Eizirik
Junkyard piece IIIB - pocket version
für mindestens 6 Ausführende

Elena Rykova
Life expectancy. Experience #2. Your Moon.
ein Trio für präparierte Instrumente: Violoncello, Snare Drum, akustische Gitarre und einen Gitarrenverstärker


Concerts in this subscription