Salvatore Sciarrino ©Luca Carrà/RaiTrade

Friday 05.05.2023, 18:00 

Wallraf-Richartz-Museum, Stiftersaal

Allegro sostenuto

verlegt in die Kunst-Station Sankt Peter

The event is in the past!

1 additional date

  • € 24.- | With discount: € 18.-

including booking fees

Event postponed

Aufgrund technischer Probleme im Stiftersaal des Wallraf-Richartz-Museums muss das Konzert in die Kunst-Station Sankt Peter (nähe Neumarkt) verlegt werden. Bereits erworbene Karten behalten ihre Gültigkeit für die neue Spielstätte. Wir möchten Sie bitten, die kurzfristige örtliche Verlegung zu entschuldigen.

Helmut Lachenmann and Salvatore Sciarrino – in a slightly paradoxical way, one might call both of them avant-garde classics. Lachenmann developed a reputation for writing conventional material alongside his highly consequent use of noises which traditionalists would not even consider music. Noises which are generated on familiar orchestral instruments using new, sophisticated playing techniques, opening up sound worlds beyond well-worn patterns of perception. Lachenmann’s early String Trio is a precursor of this aesthetic, which appears fully formed in »Allegro sostenuto«.

A self-taught composer, Sciarrino developed a sonic idiom completely his own. Over the course of many years, he pursued a plan of »liberating the voice from the sluggish imitation of instruments«; then he proceeded to transfer his »small vocal conquests« to the instruments. His new cycle »Una lettera e 6 canti« for voice and six instrumentalists combines both goals.  

Gefördert durch die Kunststiftung NRW und unterstützt durch das Istituto Italiano di Cultura Köln

Intermission at 18:45 | Estimated end at 19:35


Helmut Lachenmann
Allegro sostenuto
Musik für Klarinette / Bassklarinette, Violoncello und Klavier
Kompositionsauftrag der KölnMusik

Helmut Lachenmann
Trio I
für Violine, Viola und Violoncello

Salvatore Sciarrino
Una lettera e 6 canti
für Stimme und 6 Musiker
Kompositionsauftrag von Milano Musica, Montréal / Nouvelles Musiques und ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik für Köln


Concerts in this subscription