Nicola Benedetti ©Simon Fowler

Friday 28.04.2023, 20:00 

ACHT BRÜCKEN | Musik der Zeit - Wolkentagebuch

Nicola Benedetti | WDR Rundfunkchor | WDR Sinfonieorchester | Cristian Măcelaru

The event is in the past!

  • € 56.- | 47.- | 36.- | 23.- | 20.- | 11.- | choir gallery Z: 36.- | Students under 29 (Ticket28): € 8.-
  • Standing tickets 2 hours before the concert: € 11.-

including booking fees

Standing tickets 2 hours before the concert: € 11.-

Composing in times of the pandemic: Mark Simpson’s uncommonly colour-intense Violin Concerto for Nicola Benedetti is marked by its genesis. The opening lament was inspired by it, but also the tarantella finale with its wild discharge of the energies pent up during the lockdowns. Claude Vivier, in turn, invented sounds that might seem even more foreign. His music is reminiscent of folklore from an imaginary Asian country, or even – as the title »Orion« suggests – another planet. Meanwhile, György Ligeti’s »Atmosphères« might be describing an image of different-coloured clouds: while inward movement is hardly discernible, as a whole they shift shapes, intermingling, mixing, discolouring. »Clocks and Clouds«, on the other hand, is about transitions between such sound clouds and precisely ticking rhythms, between complex mechanics and a dreamlike-fantastical quality.

Das Konzert wird von WDR 3 live übertragen und kann im Anschluss für 30 Tage auf nachgehört werden.


György Ligeti
Clocks and Clouds
für 12-stimmigen Frauenchor und Orchester

Claude Vivier
für Orchester

György Ligeti
für großes Orchester


Mark Simpson
Violin Concerto
für Violine und Orchester
Deutsche Erstaufführung

Westdeutscher Rundfunk

In addition

Einführung in das Konzert
19:00 Uhr, Konzertsaal

Concerts in this subscription

Kölner Philharmonie