Daniel Harding ©Julian Hargreaves

Veronika Eberle ©Felix Broede

V. Eberle, Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, D. Harding: Berlioz, Sibelius u.a.

Thursday 15.11.2018, 20:00

Die Veranstaltung liegt in der Vergangenheit!

plus advance booking fees

Subscribers save up to 40%: Philharmonie for Beginners (2018/2019)

Allan Pettersson? Always good for a discovery! During the past century, the Swedish composer entered post-romantic sound spaces resounding with the full force of modernism. Finally, after an extended pause, once again the Swedish Radio Symphony presents the radical emotionality of Pettersson’s music at Cologne’s Philharmonie. Principal conductor Daniel Harding will unleash the extraordinary grim storm of Pettersson’s Symphonic Movement. The roots of this compelling tonal language go back to the Finnish late romanticist Jean Sibelius, among others, whose elegiac and ecstatic Violin Concerto will be performed by the virtuoso Janine Jansen. The second half of the concert belongs to a romantic eccentric in a class all his own: Hector Berlioz dedicated a gigantic symphonic monument to Shakespeare’s great star-crossed lovers Romeo and Juliet. From this cantata-like work, Daniel Harding has selected several emotional and dramatic orchestra highlights.

Pause gegen 20:50 | Ende gegen 22:00


Allan Pettersson
Sinfonischer Satz (1973)
für Orchester

Robert Schumann
Konzert für Violine und Orchester d-Moll WoO 1 (1853)

Pause gegen 20:50

Hector Berlioz
Roméo seul - Tristesse - Bruits lontains de concert et de bal - Grande Fête chez Capulet
aus: Roméo et Juliette op. 17 (1839)

Hector Berlioz
Scène d'amour
aus: Roméo et Juliette op. 17 (1839)

Hector Berlioz
La Reine Mab ou la Fée des Songes
aus: Roméo et Juliette op. 17 (1839)

Hector Berlioz
Roméo au tombeau de Juliette – Invocation
aus: Roméo et Juliette op. 17 (1839)


Concerts in this subscription

Kölner Philharmonie