Isabelle Faust ©Matthias Baus

Porträt Isabelle Faust: Kammermusik von Haydn, Schubert, Webern

Wednesday 07.11.2018, 20:00

Die Veranstaltung liegt in der Vergangenheit!

plus advance booking fees

Subscribers save up to 40%: Chamber Music, LANXESS Student Subscription

Isabelle Faust’s Stradivari violin is named “Sleeping Beauty”. And indeed, the violin virtuoso entices from her instrument a fairytale-like, unusually fine tone, while also imparting to it an electrifying radiance. Time and again, she seeks enlightening experiences as the “first among equals” with artistic companions. Together they search for new elements within the old and vice versa. For example, they explore a string quartet from Joseph Haydn’s Opus 33, of which the composer himself proudly stated it was composed “in a special new manner”. Before and after this work, Isabelle Faust and her musical friends place the once shocking, intensely emotional Six Bagatelles for String Quartet by Anton Webern. In this manner, tradition-bound modernism and future-oriented classics mirror each other. The evening closes with Franz Schubert’s expansive, diverse and colourful Octet, about which the composer noted, “In this manner I wish to pave the way for myself towards a large symphony.”

Pause gegen 20:35 | Ende gegen 22:00

Gefördert durch das Kuratorium KölnMusik e.V.


Anton Webern
Sechs Bagatellen für Streichquartett op. 9 (1911/13)

Joseph Haydn
Streichquartett B-Dur op. 33,4 Hob. III:40

Anton Webern
Sechs Bagatellen für Streichquartett op. 9 (1911/13)

Pause gegen 20:35

Franz Schubert
Oktett F-Dur op. 166 D 803 (1824)
für Klarinette, Fagott, Horn, zwei Violinen, Viola, Violoncello und Kontrabass



Einführung in das Konzert durch Bjørn Woll
19:00 Uhr, Empore

Abonnements und Angebote

Kölner Philharmonie