Hagen Quartett ©Harald Hoffmann

Hagen Quartett: Haydn, Schubert, Schumann

Friday 23.11.2018, 20:00

Die Veranstaltung liegt in der Vergangenheit!

plus advance booking fees

Subscribers save up to 35%: Quartetto (2018/2019)

“When playing in a quartet, one is continually confronted with a fourfold reflection – demanding great mutual respect, but that is also the beauty of it: it is a school for life.” With these words, Veronika Hagen once expressed her good fortune to be part of the Hagen Quartet, one of the world’s best string quartets. This Austrian ensemble has been playing together for almost 40 years, and thanks to the many concerts given in Cologne’s Philharmonie, a deep friendship with the local audience has arisen. In its most recent guest performances, the quartet already painted a portrait of Joseph Haydn, the father of the string quartet genre, illuminating his brilliant and humoristic qualities. Following a genial prank for four voices by Haydn, the Hagens now present a quartet by the 18-year old Schubert, as well as Schumann’s first string quartet, in which the influence of Mozart and Beethoven is unmistakable.

Pause gegen 20:55 | Ende gegen 21:50


    Lukas Hagen Violine
    Rainer Schmidt Violine
    Veronika Hagen Viola
    Clemens Hagen Violoncello


Joseph Haydn
Streichquartett B-Dur op. 55,3 Hob. III:62

Franz Schubert
Streichquartett g-Moll D 173 (1815)

Pause gegen 20:55

Robert Schumann
Streichquartett a-Moll op. 41,1 (1842)

Anton Webern
Sehr langsam
aus: Fünf Sätze für Streichquartett op. 5 (1909)

Anton Webern
Sehr bewegt
aus: Fünf Sätze für Streichquartett op. 5 (1909)


Concerts in this subscription

Kölner Philharmonie