Kent Nagano ©Felix Broede

Concerto Köln, Kent Nagano: Wagner Readings

Sunday 20.01.2019, 20:00

Die Veranstaltung liegt in der Vergangenheit!

plus advance booking fees

”The world owes me what I need,” Richard Wagner once announced self-confidently and, with passionate egomania, revolutionized the language of music. With its series entitled ”Wagner-Lesarten” (Reading Wagner), Concerto Köln explores this language, entering into a new field of historically informed performance practice. On several occasions the highly reputed ancient-music orchestra has already devoted itself to 19th-century symphonic repertoire. Now, under the leadership of Kent Nagano, for the first time it focuses on romantic opera: Richard Wagner’s Ring des Nibelungen. Over a span of several years and in different concerts, Concerto Köln and Kent Nagano have decided to approach Wagner’s tonal language and his mammoth work. In a first step they will explore the Siegfried Idyll, dedicated to Wagner’s wife Cosima. Shortly before Wagner, Hector Berlioz had already made bold attempts. He too saw himself mirrored in his heroes. In his programmatic symphony Harold in Italien, he transferred this role to the “obligatory” viola. The piece had originally been conceived for Niccolò Paganini, who then felt that the solo part failed to provide sufficient glory for the soloist. The legendary “devil’s violinist” preferred to compose his own bravura pieces, e.g. the highly virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 4, which he tailored to his own mastery.

Pause gegen 20:55 | Ende gegen 22:00



Richard Wagner
Siegfried-Idyll E-Dur WWV 103 (1870)
für Orchester

Niccolò Paganini
Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 4 d-Moll (1829/30)

Pause gegen 20:55

Hector Berlioz
Harold en Italie op. 16 (1834)
Sinfonie in vier Teilen mit solistischer Viola

Hector Berlioz
3. Szene (Ausschnitt): Rakoczy-Marsch (Ungarischer Marsch). Für Orchester
aus: La Damnation de Faust op. 24 (1845–46)



Concerts in this subscription

Kölner Philharmonie